2 comments on “The Battle of the Big Bores… the .458 Win Mag advantage

  1. I enjoyed Bob Mitchell’s article “the Battle of the Big Bores, the 458 Advantage” I wonder if he would give me his reloading info for the 405 Remington bullet in a 458 Win Mag at 2000f/s?
    Thank you

  2. I have read your article, and amazed what the .458WM can achieve on velocities for the anticipation of longer shots on game. Ironically (I apologize if this is not a word reconized in Webster’s) I find all this trivia on the .458WM a little confusing – due to the fact that this cartridge is rated for 100-150 yards on dangerous and non-dangerous game.

    In contrast, when you see velocities achieving 2780fps ratings when using 350 grain bullets. I can only assume the former yardage was based on 500 grain projectiles and so on. I have seen documentation, however, in seeing 500 grain bullets achieving 2200 fps (within reason) which in my book would classify this caliber an honest 250 yard gun. Since I have never owned a rifle in the .458 caliber, I see the advantages of a larger bore for greater terminal performance on any given game animal in question.

    My interests and the reason for this post is of my intent in purchasing a rifle chambered in this caliber. I see it being a great bear and moose gun at any range. A much better candidate than the 45-70. What’s your opinion?

Leave a comment